Sports Agent (non) Value, pt.1

Most of the general public does not realize it, or players for that matter, but it is the player who gets himself paid, not the agent.  There are two prime moments a players need an agent in the NFL: after he gets drafted and when he becomes an unrestricted free agent.

I am reminded of a family that was trying to figure out what agent to pick before the college football season had even begun. Little did they know, that was the least of their worries. Most current players and nearly ALL former players will tell you the agent selection process is not worth the hype that is given to it. 

I won’t divulge the secret here but there is a simple formula that is used when negotiating contracts between sports agents and many NFL clubs.  If players only knew how simple the process works, they would save themselves thousands upon thousands of dollars in agent fees, thus keeping more money in their pockets. This strategy works whether a player was drafted #23, #123, or #223.  I used it in my negotiations with sports agents and was always plus or minus 2% in where the player was ultimately agreed to terms on the contract. Trust me, the agents know the strike point as well and the so called negotiations are very brief.  The real question is this, how many players even understand what the heck is going on in negotiations in the first place? I visited with a player once, along with his family, who was eventually a high-round draft choice. The family said they wanted the best deal possible with the most money. I asked, “How many NFL contracts have you (the player) ever signed”. The response was a not so surprising, “None.”

Next they told me, “Well, the agent we were speaking with said that last year’s contract at [pick your draft slot] was a bad deal and he could have gotten a better deal.”

“Really?”, I replied. “Let me ask you this. Was that agent in the negotiations for that so called ‘bad deal’?”

“No.”, they replied.

“OK. Were you in the room or on the phone when those negotiations were on going on?’

Again the response was, “No.”

“So how do you know what is a “good” deal and “bad” deal since you’ve never signed an NFL contract and you were not in the negotiations of any of those deals? I bet you would take any deal I gave you right now, because you don’t know what you don’t know.”

That may sound harsh, but I was just keeping it real. The family paused for a moment and realized what I was saying made sense, and subsequently did not go with the agent that told them that misleading information.

Check back on Friday as we finish up this segment and look at the sports agent’s value for the Unrestricted Free Agent (UFA).

– Come on “in the house”! We’ll get you right.

About this entry